The Commission is the custodian of the merit system of employment and promotion in the Civil Service and is concerned with most other aspects of personnel administration. However, the proposed Public Service Employment Act will change many functions of the (Public Service) Commission (see the 1966 Year Book, pp. 143-145). It reaffirms the merit principle and makes possible the extension of its application to certain groups of employees now exempt from the provisions of the Civil Service Act; although permitting the delegation of authority to deputy heads and their officers for making appointments to and within the Public Service, the Commission will maintain centralized staffing operations for groups whose occupations are common to all departments and for certain specialized classes; the Commission will still be responsible for all appointments and report annually to Parliament, through the Secretary of State, on the discharge of this responsibility. The Commission will be relieved of the responsibility of recommending rates of pay and certain conditions of employment and also of all matters that would be directly or indirectly the subject of bargaining.

Department of Public Works.—The Department was constituted in 1867 and operates under the legislative authority of the Public Works Act and other Acts of Parliament. It is responsible for the management and direction of the public works of Canada and, except as specifically provided in other Acts, attends to the construction and maintenance of public buildings, wharves, piers, roads and bridges and the undertaking of dredging and navigable waters protection work. Federal Government interest in the Trans-Canada Highway and the Northwest Highway System is also handled by the Department. The Department maintains district offices at key points across the country. The Branches and Divisions of the Department are: Harbours and Rivers Engineering, Building Construction, Development Engineering, Property and Building Management, Administrative Services, Economic Studies, Financial Services, Fire Prevention, Information Services, Legal Services and Personnel.

The Minister of Public Works is also responsible to Parliament for the National Capital Commission.

Department of the Registrar General.—This Department was established by the Government Organization Act, 1966 (SC 1966, c. 25) which was proclaimed effective Oct. 1, 1966. It is presided over by the Registrar General of Canada whose duties include all matters over which the Parliament of Canada has jurisdiction relating to combines, mergers, monopolies and restraint of trade; patents, copyrights and trade marks; bankruptcy and insolvency; and corporate affairs. His functions also include the registration of all instruments issued under the Great Seal of Canada.

Royal Canadian Mounted Police.—The Royal Canadian Mounted Police, a civil force maintained by the Federal Government, was organized in 1873 as the North-West Mounted Police. It now operates under the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Act, 1959 and is responsible for enforcing federal laws throughout Canada By agreement with certain provincial governments, it is also responsible for enforcing provincial laws within those provinces and for policing many district municipalities, cities and towns. A Commissioner, appointed by the Governor in Council, has the control and management of the Force and of all matters connected therewith; he functions under the direction of the Solicitor General of Canada.

Department of the Secretary of State.—The duties, powers and functions of the Secretary of State of Canada extend to and include all matters over which the Parliament of Canada has jurisdiction, not by law assigned to any other department, branch or agency of the Government of Canada, relating to: citizenship; elections; State ceremonial, the conduct of State correspondence and the custody of State records and documents; the encouragement of the literary, visual and performing arts, learning and cultural activities; and libraries, archives, historical resources, museums, galleries, theatres, films and broadcasting.

The responsibilities of the Department of the Secretary of State include those pertaining to the administration of the following branches: Citizenship; Citizenship Registration; financial support for higher education; National Museum of Canada; Secretariat and Parliamentary Returns; and Translation Bureau.

The Secretary of State of Canada reports to Parliament for the Centennial Commission, the National Arts Centre Corporation, the National Film Board, the National Library, the Public Archives, the National Gallery and the Office of the Queen's Printer (Publisher), and is spokesman in the Cabinet and the House of Commons for the Board of Broadcast Governors, the Canada Council, the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, the Public Service Commission, the Office of the Chief Electoral Officer and the Office of the Representation Commissioner.

Department of the Solicitor General.—Before 1936, the Office of the Solicitor General was either a Cabinet post or a Ministerial post outside the Cabinet. From 1936 to 1945 the position did not exist, the duties of the Office being wholly absorbed by the Attorney General of Canada. The Solicitor General Act, 1945 (RSC 1952, c. 253) re-established the Solicitor General as a Cabinet officer and provided that "... The Solicitor General shall assist the Minister of Justice in the Counsel work of the Department of Justice, and shall be charged with such other duties as are at any time assigned to him by the Governor-in-Council". This legislation was repealed by the Government Organization Act, 1966 (SC 1966, c. 25), which created a new Department of the Solicitor General